You can now leave comments on the articles that matter to you. Find out more here

Race Across the World 2020: Start date, route and countries confirmed!

BBC Two struck gold with their competitive travel series Race Across the World when it launched last year.

The show sees contestants compete in pairs seeing who can get from A to B on a map fastest, using only land-based modes of transport, no phones and limited cash. Easy, right?

In season 1 we saw Elaine and Tony take home the prize after they reached Singapore from the UK in the fastest time. This year, the BBC are switching up the format slightly, making the stakes higher and the journeys tougher as the show returns for 2020.

Here is everything you need to know about Race Across the World series 2.

Episode 5: Darron and Alex in Cambodia

Race Across the World returns in 2020

Fans will be delighted to hear that the second season of Race Across the World is just around the corner.

The series will kick off on Sunday, March 8th on BBC Two. It will air at the slightly earlier time of 8 pm and episodes are one hour long.

Episodes will then be available to watch on the BBC iPlayer after broadcast.

  • HEAD HUNTER: Who is Hunted’s detective Helen Chamberlain?

What is the Race Across the World 2020 route?

It was anticipated that the BBC would alter the journey for the second season of Race Across the World, but now they have made it even tougher.

Rather than Europe and Asia as the continents of choice, the contestants will have to travel through the Americas. They will also not be starting in the UK this time. Instead, it has been confirmed that the contestants will kick off their challenge in Mexico City, having to reach seven checkpoints to complete the challenge.

First up in episode 1 is Copan Ruinas in Honduras.

  • TOO FUNNY: First Dates’ Liam and Rebecca have viewers divided

Race Across the World 2020 countries

They will be tackling sixteen countries to complete the Race Across the World 2020 route.

These countries are: Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, Peru, Colombia, Costa Rica, Chile, Panama, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Guatemala, Uruguay, Belize, Bolivia.




Thoughts? Comment Below

LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Eve spends her days writing about everything culture-related. From celebrity news to music, film and television, Eve covers all bases. When she’s not writing you can find her making music or mastering the art of homemade pasta.